About Us

Clackamas Fire District #1 is one of the largest fire protection districts in Oregon, proudly serving over 220,000 citizens and covering nearly 235 square miles. Our career and volunteer firefighters respond to tens of thousands of incidents annually from 20 strategically located fire stations.

Our service area encompasses four cities including Happy Valley, Johnson City, Milwaukie, and Oregon City, as well as the unincorporated areas of Barton, Beavercreek, Boring, Carus, Carver, Central Point, Clackamas, Clarkes, Damascus, Eagle Creek, Holcomb, Oak Lodge, Redland, South End, Sunnyside and Westwood.

In order to ensure that Clackamas Fire District #1 provides the resources that are required to respond to the current and future service demands, a Standards of Cover (SOC) document is maintained.

Click here to read our current Standards of Cover


Prior to 1933, cities were not authorized to provide fire protection outside of city limits; therefore, there was little or no fire protection. In the 1930s, the Oregon Legislature authorized the formation of Rural Fire Protection Districts to provide services in unincorporated areas. The unprotected gaps were called Fire Management Zones and were served by counties. The commissioners formed Clackamas Fire District #54 in the area surrounding Oregon City.

history03Milwaukie Fire Protection District #56 served the areas surrounding Milwaukie and north into Multnomah County. Together with Multnomah County Fire District #12, the agencies served an area that extended up to 82nd Avenue and Division in unincorporated Multnomah County.

In 1976, what remained of the two districts merged and formed Clackamas County Fire District #1. Yet, city annexations continued – forcing other districts to merge to preserve service levels. In 1988, Happy Valley Fire District #65, Clackamas Fire District #71 and Clackamas Fire District #54 merged and within two years consolidated their services further by joining with Clackamas Fire District #1. The new fire agency was now large enough to provide expanded service levels and to provide the expanded scope of services with the economies of scale typical of modern fire agencies.

history05In the early 1990s, Clackamas Fire District #1 merged with Beavercreek Fire District #55. During the next decade, it merged with Oak Lodge Fire District #51 and Clarkes Fire District #68 and began providing services by contract to the cities of Milwaukie and Oregon City.

In 2000, Clackamas Fire District #1 proudly became an Internationally Accredited Organization. In 2005, Clackamas County Fire District #1, which is commonly referred to as Clackamas Fire District #1, held an election to annex the territories within the city of Milwaukie, followed by a 2007 election to annex the city of Oregon City into Clackamas Fire District #1.

In 2014, both Boards of Directors from Clackamas Fire District #1 and Boring Fire District #59 unanimously approved a five year contract for services to provide fire protection, fire prevention and emergency medical services to citizens of Boring Fire District #59.

history06In November 2016, voters approved annexation of Boring Fire District #59 into Clackamas Fire District #1. In February 2017, Clackamas Fire finalized the legal integration in the form of an annexation with Boring Fire District #59. The annexation provides increased staffing at the Damascus Fire Station 19 from 40 hours a week to 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. As part of our commitment to this annexation, Clackamas Fire provided new fire apparatus to help enhance the services we provide across those communities.

All of these mergers, consolidations, and contracts have resulted in Clackamas Fire District #1 providing services to over 220,000 permanent residents in an area covering nearly 235 square miles with 20 community fire stations in urban, suburban, and rural areas.